Saturday, July 21, 2018 Medina 69°


Medina County Board of DD offers forum on mandates

  • https-photos-smugmug-com-News-Medina-County-Board-of-DD-i-3GW78pr-0-M-060616DDboard02LP-M

Medina County residents will learn about the changing Ohio developmental disabilities system during a meeting tonight.

Annette Davis-Kramp, superintendent of the Medina County Board of Developmental Disabilities, will host an informational presentation at 6 p.m. at the Achievement Center, 4691 Windfall Road, Granger Township.

The open forum is expected to cover the ways the MCBDD plans to address shifting state and federal mandates.

Davis-Kramp could not be reached Monday for information about the forum.

The Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities has outlined some of the recent and upcoming changes to state policies on its website:

  •  A new rule from the federal government’s Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services says federal Medicaid funds no longer will pay for some waiver services. Waivers provide Medicaid funding beyond what is available to individuals through the state fund. People receiving residential and nonresidential waiver services paid for by DODD and the Ohio Departments of Aging and Medicaid will be affected. The rule is expected to go into effect by March 2019 at the latest.
  •  The 2016-17 state budget added $286 million to the DODD budget to increase access, employment, day-service options, privacy and community infrastructure.
  •  DODD is implementing independent provider changes that will shift the way providers are paid for services offered to individuals using Medicaid.

The county board says it provides services to 1,100 adults and children in the county. Services include:

  •  early-intervention programs;
  •  school-age programs;
  •  physical services;
  •  occupational and speech therapies;
  •  behavior support;
  •  job training;
  •  programs for senior citizens.

The board’s goal is to “promote and empower individuals with developmental disabilities to live, learn, work and socialize as citizens in the community,” according its website.

Board members are Sue Barnes Brown, Kent Daugherty, Sharon Holmes, Lisa Morrison, Elaine Orlandi, Edward Perkins and Sandra Thomas Fain. Fain is president; Holmes is vice president and Orlandi is secretary of the board.

Click to view comments
To Top

Fetching stories…