Sunday, July 23, 2017 Medina 70°
Advertisement
Advertisement

Browns Notes

Browns training camp to start July 27 and include 15 practices open to public

  • Browns-camp-2-jpg-2

    Browns head coach Hue Jackson watches practice during training camp last season.

    STEVE MANHEIM / CHRONICLE FILE

Advertisement

The Browns will open training camp Thursday, July 27, the first of 15 free afternoon practices open to the public at team headquarters in Berea.

They will also hold the Orange & Browns Scrimmage, in full pads, Aug. 4 at FirstEnergy Stadium. The scrimmage was held in Akron in 2014 and in Columbus the past two years.

Season ticket holders can register for tickets to camp practices at clevelandbrowns.com today and Wednesday. Public availability opens Thursday at 10 a.m.

Free registration for the Orange & Brown Scrimmage opens to season ticket holders June 27 and to everyone June 29. The practice will begin at 5 p.m. and conclude with select autograph opportunities.

The Browns have more than doubled seating for camp in an attempt to improve the quality of the viewing experience. There will be a 1,250-seat grandstand with an awning for shade and a standing-room area at the top.

Fans can register for prioritized access for up to three practices with a maximum of four guests, as space permits. Parties wishing to attend more than three practices or book for groups of six or more are encouraged to contact the ticket office at (440) 824-3434.

Registering for tickets is strongly recommended, but fans are allowed on a walk-up basis as space permits.

All tickets to training camp will be accessible through the Browns Mobile App. Printed tickets will not be available.

“We have spent a significant amount of time discussing how we can really elevate the training camp experience for our fans, especially as it is a unique time for our team, coaches, players and fans to directly interact with one another each day,” senior vice president of marketing and media Dave Freeman said in the release announcing the schedule. “To create the best atmosphere for everyone, including our football team, we made significant changes to our seating and viewing areas, as well as adjusted the registration process, so fans can plan accordingly yet still have the opportunity to freely attend and have a great view of our practices.”

Coach Hue Jackson is excited about his second training camp following a franchise-worst 1-15 record.

“We had a competitive 2017 offseason program, and we are eager to continue that hard work and share it with our fans in Berea during training camp,” Jackson said. “While we are pleased with what we have been able to accomplish so far, we must carry that high level of focus, intensity and desire as both coaches and players throughout the year to reach our potential. We look forward to having an exciting training camp that will prepare us well to compete on Sundays.”

TRAINING CAMP SCHEDULE

Thursday, July 27, 3-5:30 p.m.

Friday, July 28, 3:25-5:55 p.m.

Saturday, July 29#, 3-5:30 p.m.

Sunday, July 30, 3:25-5:55 p.m.

Monday, July 31, 3-5:30 p.m.

Tuesday, Aug. 1, No practice

Wednesday, Aug. 2, 3:25-5:55 p.m.

Thursday, Aug. 3, 3:25-5:55 p.m.

Friday, Aug. 4**, Orange & Brown Scrimmage, 5-7 p.m.

Saturday, Aug. 5, 2:30-4:35 p.m.

Sunday, Aug. 6, No practice

Monday, Aug. 7, 3:25-5:55 p.m.

Tuesday Aug. 8, 3:25-5:55 p.m.

Wednesday, Aug. 9, No practice

Thursday, Aug. 10, Preseason, vs. Saints, 8 p.m., Channel 5

Friday, Aug. 11, No practice

Saturday, Aug. 12, 3:25-5:55 p.m.

Sunday, Aug. 13, 3:25-5:55 p.m.

Monday, Aug. 14, Closed practice

Tuesday, Aug. 15, 3:25-5:55 p.m.

Wednesday, Aug. 16, 3-5:30 p.m.

Thursday, Aug. 17, 3-5:30 p.m.

Friday, Aug. 18, No practice

Saturday, Aug. 19, Closed practice

Sunday, Aug. 20, No practice

Monday, Aug. 21, Preseason, vs. Giants, 8 p.m., ESPN

*All practice dates and times are approximate and subject to change. All public practices are subject to weather conditions. Practices moved into the field house will be closed to the public for space reasons.

**The Browns will host the Orange & Brown Scrimmage at FirstEnergy Stadium.

# Annual Cleveland Browns Blood Drive

Contact Scott Petrak at 329-7253 or spetrak@chroniclet.com. Like him on Facebook and follow him @scottpetrak on Twitter.

Click to view comments
Advertisement
Advertisement
To Top

Fetching stories…